Thousands of children are harmed each year by diagnostic errors. Pediatric clinics nationwide are invited to submit a recruitment application to participate in a first of its kind quality improvement project aimed at reducing pediatric diagnostic errors related to (1) missed elevated blood pressure, (2) missed (select) actionable labs and (3) missed opportunity to diagnose adolescent depression. The AAP Practice Improvement Network (PIN) Reducing Diagnostic Errors in Primary Care Pediatrics, or Project RedDE!, is seeking clinic teams that have 30 well-visit encounters specifically with 11 year olds and above, as well as 30 well-visits with patients 3 years old and older per month. The ability to query your EHR and/or billing system to pull charts for this 2 ½ year project is helpful to team participation. This project is being conducted by the Practice Improvement Network, part of the Quality Improvement Innovation Networks (QuIIN) at the American Academy of Pediatrics and is funded by a grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

We conducted a recruitment webinar for Project RedDE! on Thursday, May 7 at 1PM Pacific/2PM Mountain/3PM Central/4PM Eastern. Here is a link to a recorded 35 minute Recruitment Webinar (GoToWebinar)

Please see the article in the April Chapter Connection by Dr Joseph Craig on Project RedDE! too.

Contact Liz Rice-Conboy, Program Manager at ericeconboy@aap.org for more information, or follow this link to recruitment information and the application survey www.aap.org/quiin/pinprojects. Interested practices should send their applications by June 3, 2015.

Full Project RedDE! Recruitment Materials
Practice Application PDF (to review before submission)
Link to Practice Application (SurveyMonkey)